Paste your Google Webmaster Tools verification code here

The Caribbean Law Clinic

ACLI (7) resized

The Caribbean Law Clinic (CLC) is a project of the American Caribbean Law Initiative (ACLI).  The Law Schools that are members of the ACLI are: the Cayman Island Law School, the Charlotte School of Law, the Eugene Dupuch Law School, Florida Coastal School of Law, Florida International University, Howard University School of Law, the Hugh Wooding Law School, the Norman Manley Law School, Nova Southeastern University Shepard Broad Law Center, Stetson School of Law, Thurgood Marshall School of Law

These institutions have entered into a formal agreement to advance, among other things, their respective educational missions, facilitate collaborative growth and relationships and support the legal development of the Caribbean.

The CLC is intended to enable students from participating institutions to assess legal problems and issues that are responsive to the needs and priorities of Caribbean nations.

The CLC operates in the manner set out below:

  • A Caribbean/U.S. Attorney’s Office provides legal problems.
  • The problems are researched and discussed by participating students.  Legal opinions on the problems are prepared by the students.  The academic staff assists the students as required.
  • The CLC is hosted by one of the participating schools.
  • Before arriving at the host School students may be in email contact with their counterparts from the other Law Schools to explore the selected problem.
  • The problems are mooted before assessors provided by the host school, usually Legal Officers in the Caribbean/U.S. Attorney’s Office or Judges.